My views on Faith, Church and my Cancer

There is so much that goes along with having Carcinoid syndrome/cancer. The frustrating thing is the fact that not any two people with this have the same symptoms, or have the triggers for symptoms. With most cancers there are set symptoms and usually it follows a path and the treatment also is set, however, not with Neuroendocrine/Carcinoid cancer. We have a few drugs that help with symptoms and a few treatments that help some, but not others. Sometimes tumors can be taken out and other times they can debunk tumor loads, still others whom they can’t do anything. One thing most of will never see or hear, once our cancer has spread is a cure or the phrase “You are in remission”.

I get asked all the time if I am in remission and when I explain to them I will never go into remission or be cured I usually get one of two reactions. I get the ones who try to tell me if I have enough faith I will be cured. Then there are the others who just don’t believe it and either take great pity on me, (which I hate) or they bombard me with questions. I really do not mind the questions because they are interested and want to understand. I will usually stop and answer questions and I have gotten rather good at striking up conversations with complete strangers. I find it empowering to be able to educate people. Too bad I can’t get some of my doctors to spend a little time learning more.

To address the ones who like to tell me I need more faith. I try to explain to them my beliefs in which yes, some people are cured by faith and prayer. I know in my heart that there is nothing wrong with my level of faith. I know we are being tested in this life and this is my life and this is how I am being tested. I am not one that will be cured and there was a devotional/talk done by an Elder David A Bednar in our church (The Church Of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Yes I am LDS/Mormon) Those Facing Adversity to “Shrink Not” in which a question was posed to a young man who had been battling cancer. “Do you have the faith Not to be healed”? Here is the link in case you want to read it. https://www.lds.org/broadcasts/article/ces-devotionals/2013/01/that-we-might-not-shrink-d-c-19-18?lang=eng It was life changing for me to read this. See I had struggled with the whole faith thing for a long time. I was angry. I thought there must me something wrong with me, with my faith or my belief. I had so many tell me I needed more faith. Even the leaders in one of our old wards said that to me on a regular basis, which is why we moved. I started to pull away and question if I was doing the right things with my life. After much reflection and after moving to a wonderful ward I figured out it wasn’t myself or my faith that was the problem at all, but it was the faith of others. More that fact that they did not know or want to know about my cancer. They also did not understand me.

I have rarely discuss my religion on my blog, because most of my readers are here to read more about Carcinoid cancer or Autism, however I felt I needed too in this case. If it were not for my church and my faith I don’t know if I could have made it this far. My faith is what gets me through the day. My knowledge of the gospel and the continuing learning process I am going through helps me every day. I wake up every morning and my goal is to be the best mom, wife, friend that I can be. I try to help as many people as I can. I just try to live my life the best I can with the knowledge I have to offer. No one really knows how much time they have left here on this earth. I do know I will have less time than most, but I am ok with that. I do worry about my family, but I know they will be ok in time.

IMG_20150314_143002

2 responses to “My views on Faith, Church and my Cancer

  1. Hi, I have carcinoid cancer too and I agree 100%. I wrote a little post called I have faith and I think You Should Too – http://www.carcinoid-cancer.com/faith/ It’s nice to see somebody with similar views. 🙂

  2. Forgot to mention….I’m following your blog now.