Undulations (Bumps in the road) Heart Problems

It has been 2 weeks now since I was in the hospital and since I saw the surgeon and was told she could not do anything for me until doctors decided what they wanted to do about the tumors in my pancreas and kidneys. I went for a follow up with my regular doctor. Was really hoping it to be uneventful. It was anything but that. He ended up doing an EKG. Nothing new for me because well they always run them. I have just gotten use to them doing them. As it turns out, that is not normal. Really?? You mean to tell me not everyone gets EKG’s done on him or her more than once a year or just when he or she are having problems?

Anyway, my doctor had the nurse do the EKG. Then comes back in the room  and tells me that he is afraid I will have a heart attack… Excuse me! I have fabulous blood pressure (in fact it is very low, thank you very much); I have low cholesterol levels and low triglycerides. I have none of the risk factors for heart disease (except that I have cancer). Then he tells me it is a matter of my heart doesn’t get enough oxygen (or part of it).

So now I wait for him to get back to me about more testing and about seeing the cardiologist again. I acted surprised, but reality I’m not. Carcinoid heart disease is very real and just another part of this cancer I am battling. It is just a part I did not think I was going to have to deal with just yet. However it has yet to be determined if this is what it is or not. So until it is I will wait to make any assumptions on what I think this might be.

cropped-picture-to-sum-up-the-week.jpgAs of right now it is another bump in the road and I am sure I will find out soon (or at least I hope).

One response to “Undulations (Bumps in the road) Heart Problems

  1. Hope it’s nothing serious Danica, best wishes