Healthier Pumpkin Bread

I have gotten many requests from friends for this recipe so I thought I would post it. It is a different take on traditional pumpkin bread. Being my husband is diabetic I have taken to making many of my husbands favorite recipes healthier. Mostly what I have done is substitute white flour for wheat giving it more of a nutty flavor & adding fiber. I also substitute regular sugar for a Splenda/sugar mixture.

A Healthier Pumpkin Bread

Sift Together

1 3/4 whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

2 TBP pumpkin pie spice

Cream together

1 c. Splenda

1/3 c. sugar

1/3 c. butter flavor crisco

2 eggs (large)

1 c. pumpkin

1/3 c. milk (I use almond milk unsweetened)

1 TBS vanilla

Add

1 c. raisins mix in at the end

Put in two greased bread pans (optional sprinkle with brown sugar op top) and bake at 350 for 1 hour.

3 responses to “Healthier Pumpkin Bread

  1. I love recipes using pumpkin but I have never used splenda for baking. Does it change the taste?

    • As long as you use 2/3 splenda to 1/3 sugar you should not taste it. I use 3/4 slenda to 1/4 sugar & think it’s fine. Play with the ratios & see what works for you, but don’t be afraid to experiment. That’s how I come up with my recipes. I take normal recipes & alter them.
      You can also use apple sauce in place of oil in most recipes (well for baking anyway). Hope that helps.

      • Thanks for the suggestions. I usually don’t experiment with baking recipes, but I do play a lot with cooking. We don’t worry much about sugar, but the oil substitution is something I would do. Also, my sister is celiac, so a gluten-free pumpkin loaf would be cool to find.