Importance of Journaling in my life

I have always been passionate about journaling. It was a big part of my upbringing and important to my parents. I remember as a kid being told every Sunday we had to sit down and write in our journals. My sisters and I were all given our first journals when we were 5 years old. Every Sunday we would all sit down and write something.  I remember not being thrilled about this and actually, I dreaded it for a long time. I never knew what to write and I would just sit there. Usually I wrote simple explanations about my day. It was always just once a week, but it was something my parents insisted on us doing.

After a few years I did not dread it as much. Both of my parents kept journals. I remember a row of journals in the bookshelf that were my parents. I also remember the journal was sacred. No one read anyone’s journals with out permission & was never an issue.

I did not realize it but my parents were instilling a very important skill in me. Not only did it chronicle my life. Also taught me about what and how I was thinking. Also taught me how to deal with my feelings and work through problems. I have had countless journals throughout my life. My very first one was a red hardbound journal with my name in gold lettering.

As I got older, I got better about journaling. For years I kept a journal and was very good about writing in it almost daily. I stopped journaling off and on over the years. Now looking back life was less stressful when I was journaling, because I talked things out in my journal. I used it like therapy so to speak.

When I have stopped journaling, it has always been because I am going through a rough time. Or it is because I am not ready to process something that had happened. I kept a journal through my original cancer diagnosis & subsequent surgeries. However after I had my youngest daughter and then told me my cancer was incurable I stopped writing. I think I stopped writing, because I had not totally accepted the fact I was not going to get better.

Almost a year ago I started writing this blog. This has been a journal of sorts for me. I do need to get back to actually writing a journal, because I tend to write more personal things on paper. I think I will make this a goal and work on it.

3 responses to “Importance of Journaling in my life

  1. It’s cathartic, at least for me. I still have some of my diaries from my childhood years. Fun to go back and read them. I have letters written to me by friends which also is a backwards journals of sorts for me to remember what was going on at that time in our lives.

  2. There is the girl I know!! I love your posts because they are so honest and beautiful. I geelbest when I am writing as well. What an amazing thing to have all those journals from childhood. That is a beautiful gift. The red one sounds like the perfect starter.

    It is amazing how many wonderful people come into your life from all over the world once you start publishing posts, isn’t it? A journal like this will be a wonderful thing for the girls too. They will be able to understand their mama in a different way. xx