Trip to Ikea & New Furniture

 

 

A trip to Ikea is always fun especially when there is furniture that needs to be put together. PA is very aware when there is something new in her world. Any kind of box she thinks is hers to do whatever she pleases. In addition, every piece of new furniture she needs to explore and she has to try to climb inside. This trip we brought home new inexpensive nightstands & hanging lamps for hubby & my bedroom. I was very excited about this because we have been making due with makeshift furniture (and I use that term loosely) for most of our married life.  Any new or used furniture is very exciting for me. Usually means we get to discard or donate a piece of make shift furniture.

Hubby went straight to work putting them together knowing PA would be all over it. He did a great job at letting her help put them together. He would hand her pieces to give back to him. Of course, it took him twice as long this way, but he was having a good time letting her “help”.  After he got them together, I told him we needed to put them in the bedroom right away or she would try to climb in them. I got mine on my side of the bed and realized hubby got side tracked. Figured PA was not messing with the nightstand so I just let it sit.

 

A couple hours later, I came back into the room to hear a crack. The first thing that came to mind of course was that she had broken the nightstand trying to get into it. Well lucky thing she did not break it but she did pop the shelf out. At that point, I told my hubby he needed to get it into the bedroom before she really broke it.  Poor kid just can not help herself. He then went to work getting his into the bedroom. The next day he hung the lamps. I have to say it looks nice. I would post a picture but I want to wait until he finishes the painting our room. Right now, we have all but one wall painted. It would not look so bad if it was just brown, but with the white paint splotches. It just dosn’t look right.. So I took pictures of her helping instead.

One response to “Trip to Ikea & New Furniture

  1. She’s so cute!