More Baking and My Love for Pumpkin

I love to bake. I also love pumpkin and I like new ways to use pumpkin. Not only is it yummy, but it can also add fiber to a recipe and make it just a little more healthy (even if it is just to make me feel better about serving this to my family 😉 ).

My 16yr old daughter LOVES these cookies & has had me make them for fund-raisers and for her friends. I have been teaching her how to make them for herself.

 Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies 

1 c. canned pumpkin

1 c. sugar

½ c. vegetable oil

1 egg

2 c. flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp milk

1 tbsp vanilla

2 c. chocolate chips

½ c. walnuts (optional)

Cream together pumpkin, sugar, vegetable oil and egg. Add in baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon. Then flour and rest of ingredients.

Drop spoonfuls onto cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 min. (My oven took 15-18 min so watch carefully). Take out when they are just starting to brown and just firm.

 

For Thanksgiving I made the Pumpkin Bread Pudding instead of pie. It was a huge hit. Yes it is very rich, but OH so YUMMY 😉

Pumpkin Bread Pudding

1 loaf French bread (torn in pieces)

1 quart 40% whipping cream

1 dozen eggs

1 vanilla bean, seeds scraped

2 Tbs. vanilla

4 tsp pumpkin pie spice

2 c. sugar

2 c. brown sugar

2 c. canned pumpkin

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Blend all the ingredients, except the French bread, until mixed well.

Place the French bread in 2 loaf pans or a large cake pan. Pour mixture over the French bread and let sit 30 min. Bake for 1 hour or till firm.

One response to “More Baking and My Love for Pumpkin

  1. Sounds wonderful to me. Hopped over from Kat’s Cafe.