P.E.C.S(Picture Exchange Communication System) book for PA

A few weeks ago, I went to a Make & Take night (where parents can go and get help making items to help their kids) at PA’s school. I chose to make cards to put into a PECS book (Picture Exchange Communication System) for her.

When it comes to food and meal times, we have much difficulty getting PA to eat. Several things come into play here. Her speech difficulties and getting her to use her words, but then understanding what she said is hard. Add to that her sensory issues it just equals to much frustration for her and for the rest of us in the family. Her teacher at school said they use the Picture Exchange Communication System to help the kids decide what they want for snack and PA does very well. I thought about that and then this opportunity came up so I had to do it.

These books are used for communication when a child is unable to tell you what they want. I am using the one I made for PA two ways. First in the way it was intended, because some days we just cannot understand her. So I have the typical pictures in the back for everyday things (tired, potty, brush hair, brush teeth etc.). In the front of the book I have all the foods she will eat or has eaten in the past. At this time, there are just 12 food items in the book. The past few weeks she is maybe eating five of the items. In the next few weeks, I will be getting more of the 2×2 cards done for the book.

I was chatting with PA’s teacher to get ideas for how I would put it together. They use overpriced heavy-duty binders. Apparently, they cost upwards of $50.00. I could have used a regular binder from the dollar store but I wanted something I could take with me. I looked for a week and just was not finding what I wanted. One night my husband needed to go to Office Depot for something so I tagged along. I started wandering the isles for anything I could use for the PECS book. I saw some business card holder books (4×8) and after thumbing through one of them, I decided maybe this would work. I did not want to spend a fortune and happen to find one on sale for 5 dollars. Even though it was not what I was looking for, I could not pass this up and had to try it.

I was lucky in that the school gave me all the Velcro I needed to hold the cards in the book. I took some pictures of it after I got it all put together. I know these books cost a lot of money. I was blessed to have this opportunity and got to thinking there has to be a less expensive more stylish way to do this. This is why I am sharing. It does not have to cost a lot of money.

5 responses to “P.E.C.S(Picture Exchange Communication System) book for PA

  1. Thanks for sharing this! It’s really useful. I’m all for anything that’s going to help my child communicate AND save money! 🙂

  2. sassyshellbell

    That looks great!!! My Aspie daughter has no trouble with talking… in fact she has the opposite problem.. she never stops talking. 😉 I need to use the Pecs system for her morning routine and chores. She gets so distracted and off task easily. Thanks for the tip about office depot.

    • I also have routine charts & pictures in her book just for that reason. She also can not stay on task 🙂 You might also try baseball card holders as well. Anything like that should work.

  3. This is just the right size and you did it so well!! It looks so professional. Where did you get the cards for the pictures? Di d you just use some online clip art? I love this idea. (And I’m weird cuz I love using the little velcro pads- there’s just something fun about it!)

    • I got them from PA’s teacher, but some I found on line. I will forward you links. I will ask PA’s teacher for a copy of all their pictures they use. I think you can just shrink pictures & print them as well. My hubby has offered to do it for me he’s a wiz at that stuff. Maybe I can just scan them all and send a PDF to you **laughing** Let me know..