An ER Trip Equals Autism Awareness?

  The night before last was scary for my husband and I. put my 3 ½ year old to bed. She had been a little snotty (the literal kind coming out the nose) and coughed once or twice. However I would not have said she was really sick, but I gave her a Benadryl just in case.

About an hour and half later I heard her cough **sigh** knowing what was to come. I told my husband to go get her and I went to grab a towel (towel for when she throws up after coughing).. Well when we got to her she was coughing and starting to have problems breathing. Then panic set in.

We brought her out to the living room and she started to throw up flem (knew that was next). Usually that helps her and then able to settle down and eventually back to sleep.

This time though she started a seal like bark I am all too familiar with, and she was still struggling to breath. Then she threw up some more, but no relief. So I told my husband she needed to go in to the ER, but I did not want to transport her like that. He said he would dial 911 and we got a nebulizer treatment going for her.

When the paramedics arrived she was still in distress and was still barking (coughing) & was throwing up again.

Well she was traumatized & fighting us every step of the way. The paramedics could not touch her. We had a hard time just getting her vitals. I knew how scary this must have been for her and she didn’t understand that these people were helping her. No amount of explaining was doing any good.

They got her stabilized enough to put up on the gurney and into the ambulance. She wrapped her legs around me, planted her face in my chest with her hands cupped around her face. No one was going to pry this kid off me. She remained that way all the way to the hospital.

I felt bad for the paramedics, because they could not do their job. I explained to them about her SPD and autistic traits. They were very understanding, but came to realize they really didn’t understand. They knew the word autistic, but only limited understanding of what it really means. Then as for the SPD (sensory processing disorder) part, well I had to explain it to them.

Stuff like this is very hard for any kid and parent, but when you have a special needs child you end up educating everyone involved. Which any other day, I am more than good with. However when my child is in distress I don’t feel I need to explain these things to anyone.

So the ride over was just that a ride over. The paramedics were unable to do anything for her. Now she was breathing ok and was not in as much distress, so it didn’t matter if they had to wait till we got there to take her vitals.

The ER experience was fabulous. The Dr. Attending to her really knew how to work with kids like my PA. She let her handle the equipment and even try it on her first so she would know it would not hurt. Now mind you she has been through all this more than once, but her anxiety levels were through the roof so she was understandable confused. After x-rays, which went better than I had imagined. She thought the idea of that big machine taking her picture was really neat. A far cry from the last time we were in that room.

After finding out from x-rays and such she had RSV and croup. This was no surprise as she gets this and an ER visit every year. So orders were given lots of rest, liquids and a prescription for steroids. After her first dose of medicine we were too good to go.

One thing I did find amusing was the fact that they none of them had ever heard of blowing in the kids face to help them swallow medicine. I must have explained it to 4 nurses, 3 Dr’s and the security guard of all things.

All in all yes it was traumatic, but ended well. PA is doing better, on the mend. I am grateful for a good experience over all. I guess those of us with special needs kids will always have to be teachers. To help educate people like paramedics, police and other people how to interact with our kids.

Origanal post done 1/11

Comments are closed.